Carolyn Conquers Big Hill

The final race of the year, the Lois Trimble Handicap, was once again run over a tough 2 lap 5km course, around and over Stawell’s Big Hill.

The weather usually seems to be either hot, or cold and wet, and this year it ran true to form with a fine, mostly sunny day and warm conditions.

Carolyn Lehmann set a good pace from the start, going into the second lap with a clear lead. However Meg Parnaby was making her way through the field, with Keith Lofthouse and Ted Zgainski not far behind.

With 1km to go, Lehmann still led the field, but Parnaby was closing in, and looked like she might take the lead. However, the final steep climb to the finish was too much for Parnaby, and Lehmann hung on to win by 7 seconds.

Keith Lofthouse crossed the line third, just in front of Zgainski. Next across the line was Ray Scott, finishing just in front of Nathaniel Warren, who ran the fastest time of the day, with 19 minutes 50 seconds.

Susie Ellis was the fastest female with a time of 23 minutes 40 seconds.

Ebony Darnell revelled in the conditions, and come home well ahead in the junior 5km event, run over the same 5km course. Liam Scott was second and also recorded the fastest junior time of 24 minutes 53 seconds. Emily Parnaby was third.

Somer Darnell completed a Darnell family double when she won the sub-junior 1km out and back event, coming in half a minute ahead of Georgia Barnett. India Burns was third.

Tobias Blair ran the fastest sub-junior time of 5 minutes 12 seconds.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top