An Important Message to Members

Changes to the 2015 Season

Dear SAAC Members,

At the Annual General Meeting of the Stawell Amateur Athletic Club last Wednesday (10th December 2014) the committee decided on a number of significant changes.

These were deemed necessary in the light of declining attendances, particularly over the last two years.

Race times will now be @ 9.30am for a 10am start.

We will meet at the North Park Clubrooms, as usual, but we will not return for morning tea (with some exceptions) because the races and presentations will have concluded by lunchtime.

Presentations will now take place at the venue as soon as the results are worked out.

Members will be able to use this time for a cool down.

On most mornings, it is likely we will be able to leave the venue by 11.30am, allowing members to enjoy their Saturday afternoons at leisure.

Perhaps three or four times during the season, only the committee and those wishing to take a more active role in the running of the club will return to the clubrooms, to conduct business.

The former cake raffle is now, more simply, a raffle.

Those named on the roster can provide any product of their choosing for the raffle. It can be a cake, if desired, a bottle of wine, a voucher or a gift on some sort. The new raffle will be drawn before we travel to the venue.

The Junior competition has been suspended due to insufficient numbers.

However, Juniors who turn 14 during the season will be eligible to run in Senior ranks and still pay the Junior fee of $2. We feel Juniors will respond to the stronger competition and if numbers build during the year we can revert to a Junior competition again in the future.

Juniors will only be allowed to compete in races longer than 5km with the written permission of a parent.

Presentation Night will now not be held after the final race at Big Hill, but on the following

Friday or Saturday afterwards.

Printouts from the previous week’s race will be posted in the clubrooms, together with regular updates in the Championships, Aggregate and Teams events. We need to do this togenerate more interest in these Award categories.

The decision to move to a morning start was made after consultation with each and every member via poll online and in the clubrooms. We understand that not everyone will welcome the change, but the majority were in favour of the earlier start and we need to build a stronger club.

Your 2015 Office Bearers are:
President –  Keith Lofthouse
Vice President – Stephen Baird
Secretary – Meggy Boan (Matilda Iglesias, Website, Records)
Treasurer – Robert Freeland
Committee – Ray Rickard, Rachel Coverdale, Nathan Baker, Gary Howden, Sharon Howden, Selina Heard-Price, Marg Freeland

I will be happy to answer any questions by email at .

Keith Lofthouse.


Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top